What Age Is The Foundation Phase?

Is year one a foundation stage?

Key Stage 1 (KS1) comes after the Early Year Foundation Stage (EYFS) and is part of the National Curriculum.

It is the legal term for the two years of schooling in maintained primary schools in England and Wales and begins at age 5 in Year 1 and ends after 2 years when pupils complete Year 2..

What is the difference between Grade R and Grade 1?

Grade R does not just prepare children for Grade 1. It prepares children for a lifetime of learning. The R in Grade R stands for Reception. It is the year that our children are received into the exciting world of ‘big’ school.

What is foundation phase in teaching?

Foundation Phase is defined as Grade R to Grade 3, where ethics, manners and fundamental learning techniques are developed. Students wishing to study this phase of education should have a passion for teaching toddlers and enjoy a hands-on, practical method of teaching.

What’s the difference between Reception and Year 1?

Reception follow ‘Early Years’, whereas Yr 1 follow the national curriculum, so there is much more play based learning in reception.

Is foundation the same as reception?

Children start school either in the term or in the academic year in which they reach five, depending on the policy of the Local Education Authority. Reception is the final part of the Early Years Foundation Stage of education.

What are the 7 areas of development?

The 7 different areas of learning and development in the EYFSCommunication and language development. … Physical development. … Personal, social, and emotional development. … Literacy development. … Mathematics. … Understanding the world. … Expressive arts and design.

Does Higher Certificate qualify for teaching?

A Higher Certificate will also enable you to build on your education. It will allow you to enrol for an even higher qualification, such as an advanced certificate or diploma course, in the same or related field of study.

Which teaching course is best?

Top 10 Teacher Training Courses in IndiaBA B. Ed. … B.Sc and B. Ed Integrated Course. … D. El. … B.P. Ed. … B. Ed. … Pre & Primary Teachers’ Training. These courses are meant for training students or candidates who aim at becoming future teachers in the latest available teaching methods. … Montessori Teachers Training. … Ed.More items…•

What are the 6 learning areas?

The Areas of LearningPersonal, Social and Emotional Development. … Communication and Language. … Physical Development. … Literacy. … Mathematics. … Understanding of the World. … Expressive Arts and Design.

What is the difference between fs1 and fs2?

When FS1 and FS2 launched in August 2013, Fox Sports decided to rebrand its popular Speed channel into FS1, while Fuel TV turned into FS2. … FS2 won’t be involved in the upcoming FIFA World Cup, with all live matches airing on Fox and FS1.

What grades are foundation phase?

Foundational Phase teachers teach Grade R to Grade 3 primary school learners within a prescribed curriculum. Foundational Phase teachers usually teach all the subjects in the curriculum to learners, whereas teachers in the higher phases teach only certain subjects in which they specialise.

How old is a Year 12 student?

Year / Grade PlacementAgeUK YearsUS/International Grades14 – 15Year 10High School – Advanced Placement, High School Diploma15 – 16Year 1116 – 17Year 12 / Lower 6th17 – 18Year 13 / Upper 6th10 more rows

What age group is foundation phase?

They are grouped as follows: Early Years Foundation Stage – ages 3-5 (Nursery and Reception) Key Stage 1 – ages 5-7 (Years 1 and 2) Key Stage 2 – ages 7-11 (Years 3-6)

What are the 7 areas of the Foundation Phase?

The seven Areas of Learning are: • Personal and Social Development, Well-being and Cultural Diversity • Language, Literacy and Communication Skills (revised to include the literacy component of the LNF) • Mathematical Development (revised to include the numeracy component of the LNF) • Welsh Language Development • …

What age is fs2?

What is Foundation Stage 2 (FS2)? Foundation Stage 2 is the first year of compulsory education for children between the ages of 4-5 and follows the EYFS (Early Years Foundation Stage) framework. It is also referred to as Reception or F2.

How old is a Year 5?

Key stagesChild’s ageYearKey stage9 to 10Year 5KS210 to 11Year 6KS211 to 12Year 7KS312 to 13Year 8KS39 more rows

What are the 4 specific areas of learning and development?

The four Specific areas are:Literacy.Mathematics.Understanding the world.Expressive arts and design.

Is fs2 mandatory?

While FS1 isn’t compulsory, kids already in school are automatically guaranteed a place in FS2, so there could be fewer places up for grabs if you delay until your child turns four. … Every child is different, and while one may rise to the challenge of a larger environment, many need a little more time to grow.”